adventures around the world · Honduras

like a garden.

Our trip to Honduras can not be summed up in words…

thoughts can not do my heart justice.  photographs may help, a little.

What we experienced is something that will hopefully stay with us, change

us, and make us better people who see the world with new eyes.

“And if you spend yourselves in behalf of the hungry
and satisfy the needs of the oppressed,
then your light will rise in the darkness,
and your night will become like the noonday.

The LORD will guide you always;
he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land
and will strengthen your frame.
You will be like a well-watered garden,
like a spring whose waters never fail.”

Isaiah 58:10-11

the beauty and the joy of the people brought light to those ten days. 

i do not want to forget this time. 

i'm grateful for the privilege i had of being in this place.
2 thoughts on “like a garden.

  1. Your pictures are gorgeous in the midst of poverty. They are so colorful and the people look joyful in their surroundings. I’ll bet it must have really affected you personally, a trip like this. Something to always remember. That bible verse fits just right, something to think about. Thank you for sharing your delights with me today. I lived for a year in Denver and Aurora in 1985-1986. I had a wonderful time when I was there and I really enjoyed the weather and the seasons and the mountains. Where in the Northwest is your road trip taking you?

  2. Thank you Melissa! I love living in Colorado – I’ve been here four years and can’t imagine moving back east anytime soon!
    I wrote a bit about my upcoming trip here: http://rootsandlove.blogspot.com/2010/04/im-going-to-california-since-i-got-my.html

    We are having a planning night tonight with two friends that are going with us. The plan is to drive up hwy 1 and 101 from San Francisco to Seattle. I can’t wait! If you know of any must-see places along that route, I’d love to hear!

Leave a Reply

