art · lifestyle · photography

Photographing for myself {creating for the sake of creating}

I am someone who longs to create.  I appreciate so much the opportunities we have in this world to make art, in whatever way we know how, and allow it to cultivate JOY for ourselves or someone else.  I read somewhere recently, that as we create, we are, in a sense, becoming more of who we were made to be.  I believe that as we allow ourselves to express creatively (whether it be writing, singing, dancing, painting, photographing, tying flies….whatever it may be!) we are uniting ourselves more closely to the Creator, the One who ultimately knows how to make beautiful things.  The difficult thing sometimes, for me at least, is to let go of the need of approval from others.  What we make, should be a reflection of who we are (or dream of being).  It should also be free of any fear of disapproval from anyone else.  What matters is that it challenges me, brings me joy, and ultimately points to One who makes beautiful things always, and has given me the heart to try it, too.

For those of you who are photographers, you can probably relate when I say that one gift of photography is that it inspires me to look at life in a different way. I’m often seeing more deeply, noticing more fully,

and slowing down to document the beauty around me.  Clyde Kilby, a Literature professor of C.K. Chersterton’s  once said,

“At least once every day I shall look steadily up at the sky and remember that I, a consciousness with a conscience,

am on a planet traveling in space with wonderfully mysterious things above me and about me.”

Sometimes the camera helps me to be consciously awake to the gifts all around me.  For that, I’m grateful.

2 thoughts on “Photographing for myself {creating for the sake of creating}

  1. You are such a talented lady! Thank you for capturing the moment… the pics are beautiful. I can so relate to what you are posting… wonderful quote…

Leave a Reply

