adventures around the world · Ethiopia · human trafficking · justice · social justice

Beauty of a Woman {International Women’s Day}

My friend Karen and I are doing a photo event tomorrow called “Beauty of a Woman”.  We’re both excited to join forces and create a fun experience for some women in our community to have photographs to use for their small business or for personal use.  Ironically (or maybe not so), today is International Woman’s Day.  Every year on March 8th, people around the world celebrate women : who they are, what they have accomplished and overcome over the years, and also to empower women to continue to do great things.  Here in the US, as a woman, I feel so privileged and blessed because I experience freedom on a day-to-day basis. Not all women do.

On thinking about International Women’s Day, I thought about some of the images from my trip to Ethiopia in 2010 (I often think in images!)

Here are a few of the beautiful women I was able to meet.  To me, these images represent their beauty and strength- and their courage to raise children and love people in very difficult circumstances.

(the one above  is especially dear to me…this is my mom on the left (a beautiful woman!) , and she was able to help this woman take care of a head-wound on her son)

One of the themes this year of IWD is “Women and men united to end violence against women and girls”.  This is something close to my heart as I truly believe it is my privilege to find my part in bringing freedom and hope to women and girls, especially, who are experiencing violence and oppression around the world (and in my city, too).  I feel strongly that this is what we’re meant to do here- to make a difference….as cliche as that may sound, I believe it.  And I hope to live it.

(this beauty is Bereket, also dear to my heart!)

If you’ve seen my website, hopefully you’ve seen that I give 10% of my profits to an organization doing very important work called Restore Innocence.  Their mission is  “Restoring victims of child trafficking back to the innocent children God created them to be”.  It’s an incredible mission and if you’d like to learn more, you can go to the website: restoreinnocence.org  or the facebook page for information…also feel free to ask me, I”m always up for sharing about it!

Whatever we do, let us recognize that our actions do matter, and that we all have a place in bringing hope to someone else in the world!  I read something today that really resonated: “What moves you? What drives you? What infuriates you? And how can you creatively engage in a way that uses your innate gifts and abilities…?”  Human trafficking, exploitation, oppression…these are things that infuriate me.  And I want to choose to use my gifts and joy in photographing people to make an impact on a bigger level.

“I am only one, but still I am one.
I cannot do everything, but still I can do something;
And because I cannot do everything
I will not refuse to do the something that I can do.”

~ Helen Keller ~

Leave a Reply

