Uncategorized

we all bring something

(some shots from early winter…practicing with the Rollei with my friend Molly).

Brene Brown is a creative, an author, and speaker who wrote this in her book “The Gifts of Imperfection”:

“Letting go of comparison is not a to-do list item.  For most of us, it’s something that requires constant awareness.

It’s so easy to take our eyes off our path to check out what others are doing and if they’re ahead or behind us.

Creativity, which is the expression of our originality,

helps us stay mindful that what we bring to the world is completely original and cannot be compared.

And, without comparison, concepts like ahead or behind or best or worst lose their meaning”.

I confess this is something I often struggle with in the world of photography (and well, in other facets of my life as well).  It’s so tempting to compare myself and my work to other’s out there.  There’s so much goodness, so many talented and wonderful artsits out there and although it can often be a venue for inspiration, it can also be a source of comparison. {I often share on my Facebook and Pinterest page sources of inspiration for me}.  What Brown points out is so important.  If we are always comparing ourselves, wishing we had this skill or could take that kind of picture, or looked more like that person, or had that house, etc…we are left with envy and dissatisfaction.  If we are caught up in wishing we were someone else, or did something else, we might lose the potential for beautiful and original work. When we’re stuck in comparison, it leads to a less beautiful, less creative world.  I believe in each one of us, lies the capability to create beauty.  This morning I was reminded of the crazy, awesome idea that we were made in the image of the Creator, the one who made the galaxies and the pine needles, who created the deeps shades of ocean blues and forest greens, the One who made each unique individual on this planet today and throughout history.  We were made with the ability to create, too – to bring something unique and original into the world.  

I hope I can keep coming back to this, remembering that I (even when I feel doubt) have something unique and beautiful to bring to the world.  

And so do you.

Leave a Reply

