lifestyle · photography

Longboards and Polaroids

I am so grateful. So blessed that I get to ‘be a photographer’ as my job. It’s honestly something I never intended on as my career, (although I do remember when I was younger that I wanted to be a National Geographic Photographer when I grew up). I’ve had lots of different jobs throughout the years, and many that I have loved with all my heart. I think I should write a bit about my path into photographer as a full-time career in an upcoming post. I have a lot to say about it 🙂  I am so grateful and also, know that running a business can be really hard sometimes. I struggle. A lot. And I have my down days and the times when I just want to “throw in the towel” and apply somewhere that I will get a regular paycheck without having to be creative and organized all the time. I never want to complain about what I do because it truly is a gift to be able to do this…but I also don’t want to pretend that it’s always easy and that I always love it. I have clients who don’t love what I do for them sometimes. I have weddings that take me forever to edit and piles of ideas and things I should be doing (like blogging, making new contracts, editing this one and that one, following up with people, and the list goes on and on). What I’m trying to say is that sometimes I just feel not good at this! I get discouraged and tired and feel like giving up. But I also know that sometimes, things go right and people love what I give them and I get stuff done on time. It’s the balance of life…ups and downs and in-betweens. We all feel it no matter what line of work we might be in, whether we’re parenting day in and day out, showing up at a job we don’t love because we have to provide for ourselves or our loved ones. Whatever boat you may be in, I hope that you find some peace and joy in the day-to-day…and that you know that no matter what you ‘do’, you can and do make a difference in the world just by being in it!

For now, I wanted to share a fun post. Sometimes I have to do this. I have to do something for myself, that helps me be creative in a way that’s different when I’m providing a service for someone. This is just a fun shoot I did with some lovely girls in my city. We went to one of my favorite spots in town; The Principal’s Office at Ivywild. If you haven’t been yet, it’s a must-see spot in Colorado Springs!

Here are a few photographs with the girls. I’d love to more shoots like this so if you like it, have an idea, or want to contact me about creating something together, don’t hesitate to get in touch! Just e-mail me at loverootsphotography@gmail.com

Thanks to my lovely models: Rachel Crane and Marisa Morales.

m+r-2

untitled (473 of 768)

untitled (407 of 768)

untitled (462 of 768)

 

untitled (557 of 768)

untitled (509 of 768)

untitled (281 of 768)

untitled (319 of 768)

untitled (334 of 768)

untitled (714 of 768)

m+r

untitled (626 of 768)

untitled (257 of 768)

“I’ve been through the desert
And I’ve been across the sea
I’ve been walking through the mountains
I’ve wandered through the trees
For her

I have been trying to find her
Want to give what I got
She lit a fire
But now she’s in my every thought”

-She Lit a Fire / Lord Huron

 

Leave a Reply

