adventures around colorado

The Echo of Beauty

 465B0333

“If I find in myself desires which nothing in this world can satisfy, the only logical explanation is that I was made for another world.” – C.S. Lewis

465B0344

Ever have the feeling that there’s something more? Do you ever just wonder about how incredible life is but yet still have a longing that reflects something deeper in the heart – deeper to the very core of your being – something that whispers, ‘you were created for something bigger’ ? I’ve been thinking a lot about wanderlust lately, and the popularity (at least on my instagram feed) of exploration, adventure, pioneering, seeking, dreaming, wandering, etc. Maybe it’s just the people and photographs I’m most attracted to, or maybe it points to something common and innate in all human beings – the longing for beauty and meaning.

465B0554

A few weeks ago, some friends and I got up way too early and drove East to try and make it to the Paint Mines in time for sunrise. It was breath-takingly beautiful. This place is a little gem on the Eastern plains of Colorado and I love coming here to see the colors, the formations, the vastness of God’s creative imagination. This longing to explore, I believe, reflects the nature God gave us when He formed us from the dust and called us “beautifully and wonderfully made”.

465B0401

465B0544

As C.S. Lewis writes so much more eloquently;

“If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world. If none of my earthly pleasures satisfy it that does not prove that the universe is a fraud. Probably earthly pleasures were never meant to satisfy it, but only to arouse it, to suggest the real thing. If that is so, I must take care, on the one hand, never to despise, or be unthankful for, these earthly blessings, and on the other, never to mistake them for the something else of which they are only a kind of copy, or echo, or mirage. I must keep alive in myself the desire for my true country, which I shall not find till after death; I must never let it get snowed under or turned aside; I must make it the main object of life to press on to that other country and to help others to do the same.”

465B0479

465B0440

465B0010

I think that part of our need to explore and see new things, to surround ourselves with beauty, and search for something bigger, comes from a deep place inside our hearts. Another one of my favorite writers, Thomas Merton said this; “If a man is to live, he must be all alive, body, soul, mind, heart, spirit.”  We all want to live. And not just survive…but truly live and thrive. Getting out into these places of beauty and the unknown can spark something in our hearts, bodies, minds, and spirits – (and if we’re open) pointing us to a Creator whose love is deeper and wider than we can imagine, and whose beauty exponentially surpasses anything we’ve set our earthly eyes on.
465B0376

But we have to be on the lookout. 465B0012

We have to be willing to see beyond just the surface of beauty – to see deeper, more fully, more presently.

465B0235Listen to the echos – see the beauty around you (and inside you) for what it is… a glimpse, a prompt, a reminder of what we’re truly longing for, and what is to come.

“It’s strange to be here. The mystery never leaves you.” -John O’Donohugh

A few resources for further exploration :

On Being : Interview with John O’Donohugh 

Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

Thomas Merton 

Leave a Reply

